On Air The Afternoon Show Alex Brindley | 3:00pm - 5:30pm

Town triumph in Twenty20

Castletown have won the Standard Bank Twenty20 Cain Cup.

In yesterday’s matches at Tromode they beat Loaghtyn in the semis and then St John’s in the final.

Loaghtyn had batted first, but were pinned back to 74 for 9 by tight bowling.

Gareth Dawson top scored with 32 and Gareth Morris took 5 for 16.

The Town got the runs for the loss of two wickets with Travis Friend hitting a rapid fifty.

In the other semi Jaco Jansen smashed 47 as St John's reached 140 for 6.

Ramsey were then dismissed for 68 with Chris Hawke taking a hat-trick, all clean bowled.

Jansen was again the top scorer for the Saints in the Final as he made 26, while Greg Hawke hit 24 not out from a total of 108 for 6.

Castletown lost an early wicket, but then a fine stand between Gareth Morris and Ben Akrigg won the game.

Morris cracked 42 and Akrigg made a stirring 54 which won him the man-of-the-match award.

More from Isle of Man Sport