On Air Sundown Judith Ley | 9:00pm - 1:00am

Awards and Institute History

Noon today will see the nominations for the 2007 Sports Awards unveiled.

Past winners of the Sportsman of the Year trophy are:-

2002 - Richard "Milky" Quayle
2003 - Martin Rowe
2004 - David Knight
2005 - David Knight and Mark Cavendish
2006 - Mark Cavendish

The Sportswoman of the Year has been won twice by triathlete Jess Draskau Peterson in 2003 and 2005. Winter Olympic bobsleigher Cheryl Done was the first winner in 2002. Snowboarder Zoe Gillings claimed the award in 2004 and Race Walker Sue Biggart took the title for 2006.

The Isle of Man Ambassador Award has previously gone to Steve Hislop, Neil Hodgson, Steve Colley, Mark Higgins and David Knight.

And Teams of the Year include the Isle of Man Mixed Hockey squad, Island Games Cycling in 2003, Sidecar duo Dave Molyneux and Daniel Sayle, Bacchanalians Hockey Club and the Isle of Man Football squad.

Sports Council Chairman Geoff Karran says the concept of the Sports Institute about to be built at the National Sports Centre came about from a discussion with the Guest of Honour at the first awards night:-

PICTURE - National Sports Centre (from isleofmanguide)

Clip 1

More from Isle of Man Sport