On Air After Hours Rhian Evans | 10:00pm - Midnight

TT 2009 underway!

TT 2009 is officially underway.

The opening practice session, which was untimed, started shortly before 7pm on Saturday after a delay of just over half an hour caused by cattle near the course.

In glorious conditions, newcomers were first out for a controlled lap, led by TT winner Richard ‘Milky’ Quayle, before the solo machines and the sidecar outfits.

Although an untimed session, speed traps at Suplby and the Grandstand gave an indication of speeds.

At Sulby, Australian Cameron Donald was the quickest, recording a speed of 187.5mph.

The next quickest were Steve Plater, Bruce Anstey, Ramsey’s Conor Cummins and Adrian Archibald.

The man to beat, John McGuinness, was the quickest at the Grandstand, where a speed of 174.3mph was recorded, followed by Ian Hutchinson, Guy Martin and Donald.

Greg Lambert and Dipash Chauhan were the fastest sidecar crew at Sulby in 142.8mph, closely followed by Phil Dongworth and Gary Partridge with Manx duo Dave Molyneux and Dan Sayle leading the way at the Grandstand (132.7 mph).

Competitor Scott Jenson came off at Union Mills and was taken to Noble’s Hospital for a check-up.

Steve McDonald came off at Braddan Bridge oak tree and also had a check-up but was later discharged.

The next practice session takes place on Monday evening.

More from Isle of Man Sport