On Air Mannin Line Andy Wint | Noon - 1:00pm

Bevan Rodd & Lizzie Holden take top prizes at latest sports awards

Triple success for IoM Cricket as 14 honours presented at Villa Marina

Bevan Rodd and Lizzie Holden have scooped the top prizes at the 2023 Isle of Man Sports Awards in Douglas this evening (28 February).

23-year-old rugby union star Rodd has secured the Sportsman of the Year accolade after helping England to a third-place finish at the Rugby World Cup in South Africa and assisting his club Sale Sharks to the team's first Gallagher Premiership final in 17 years.

Elsewhere, elite women's cyclist Holden has been named Sportswoman of the Year following a twelve months in which she was crowned Elite Women's British National Time Trial champion in June 2023.

Cycling was also recognised elsewhere as Mark Cavendish was named Ambassador of the Year.

Meanwhile, there was triple success for Isle of Man Cricket as the Manx ladies national squad took the Team of the Year title with Sally Green scooping Coach of the Year as well as The Leonie Cooil Courage & Inspiration Award.

For the second year running, England Under-21's hockey player Sienna Dunn was named Under-21 Sportswoman of the Year with the Under-21 Sportsman of the Year status this time around going to athletics competitor Corrin Leeming.

It was also a night of celebration for Special Olympics Isle of Man as athlete Duncan Watterson won the Disability Sportsperson of the Year.

Long-distance athlete Sarah Webster also made it back-to-back Veteran Sportsperson of the Year titles.

In total, 14 honours were awarded - you can see a full list of the 2023 Isle of Man Sports Awards winners below:


Sportsman of the Year: Bevan Rodd (Rugby Union)

Sportswoman of the Year: Lizzie Holden (Cycling)

Under-21 Sportsman of the Year: Corrin Leeming (Athletics)

Under-21 Sportswoman of the Year: Sienna Dunn (Hockey)

Ambassador of the Year: Mark Cavendish (Cycling)

Team of the Year: Isle of Man Women's Cricket

Coach of the Year: Sally Green (Cricket)

Disability Sportsperson of the Year: Duncan Watterson (Special Olympics)

Veteran Sportsperson of the Year: Sarah Webster (Athletics)

Sports Administrator of the Year: Joy Gough (Archery)

Sports Leader of the Year: Ellie Johnson

Lifetime Achievement - George Peach (Motorsport)

Sporting Achievement of the Year - Lorna Gleave (Athletics)

The Leonie Cooil Courage & Inspiration Award - Sally Green (Cricket)


More from Isle of Man Sport