On Air The Morning Show Marc Tyley | 9:30am - Noon

2023 Isle of Man Sports Awards taking place tonight

Guest of honour remains 'astounded' at quality of Manx sport overall

The guest of honour at this year's Isle of Man Sports Awards says she remains 'astounded' at how many top athletes the Island continues to produce.

The event will take place from 7.45pm tonight (28 February), at the Villa Marina in Douglas, recognising the sporting achievements and success stories of the past year.

Manx Olympic snowboarder Zoe-Gillings Brier has represented Great Britain in four Winter Games.

She told Manx Radio she believes Island sport will continue to flourish:

Twelve accolades will be up for grabs during this evening's event including the coveted Sportsman of the Year and Sportswoman of the Year titles.

Seven are in contention for the Sportsman of the Year prize - David Mullarkey (Athletics), Mathew Rennie (Boxing), Bevan Rodd (Rugby Union), Joe Yeardsley (Motorsport), Jed Etchells (Motorsport), Ryan Cringle (Motorsport) and Joel Watterson (Swimming).

Meanwhile, there are eight names in the fold for the Sportswoman of the Year accolade - Nikki Arthur (Athletics), Rachael Franklin (Athletics), Sarah Astin (Athletics), Sarah Webster (Athletics), Yasmin Ingham (Equestrian), Erika Kelly (Athletics), Lizzie Holden (Cycling) and Becky Storrie (Cycling).

You can see the nominations for all the awards categories HERE.

More from Isle of Man News